removing/deleting contacts

animated text: It’s not me. It’s you.Not every connection is meant to be permanent. Sometimes, people are friends for a while but not forever—relationships change and evolve. That’s just the ebb and flow of life, isn’t it? Fortunately, deleting a contact is pretty easy to do with illumy.

in a web browser

  1. You can start from either Messaging or Contacts view.
    • In Messaging view, locate the connection you want to delete in the left panel, and click it. In this view, names appear in order of your most recent interaction—not alphabetical order.
    • In Contacts view, locate the name in the alphabetical list you wish to delete. Click it, and then skip to Step 3.
  2. The conversation thread appears in the middle pane. At the very top of the pane, you’ll see a contact card icon. Click it. Their contact page opens.
    • If they’re a Smart Contact, at the bottom you’ll see a red-outlined Remove Connection button. Click it.
    • If they’re a Basic Contact, at the bottom you’ll see a Delete Connection button. Click it to delete the contact.
  3. When the confirmation window pops up, you’ll have the option to cancel or confirm.
  4. If you change your mind or didn’t mean to remove this contact, simply click “Cancel.”
  5. To delete the connection, click “Confirm,” and you never have to interact with them again. This is especially helpful if an external email address is spamming you or even just emailing you too much.

in the mobile app

  1. You can start from Messaging or Contacts view.
    • In Messaging view, scroll to the conversation thread you have with the person and tap it.
    • In Contacts view, scroll through the alphabetical list to locate the contact you want to remove. Tap their name, and then skip to Step 4.
  2. Tap the three vertical dots in the upper right of the thread.
  3. Select “Go to Contact.”
  4. Their contact page opens. Tap the red-outlined Remove Contact button (if they’re a Smart Contact) or the Delete Contact button (for a Basic Contact).
  5. The pop-up appears asking you to cancel or confirm.
  6. If you change your mind or didn’t mean to remove this contact, simply click “Cancel.”
  7. To delete the connection, click “Confirm,” and you never have to interact with them again. This is especially helpful if an external email address is spamming you or even just emailing you too much.

coming soon

In the near future, when you remove a connection, illumy will automatically block that connection or email address from attempting to contact you again. This will be part of our Spam A.I. feature when it launches. Right now, though, any contact you’ve deleted will be able to request to connect again. You can dismiss the request without them knowing.