set permissions for your profile data

Beverly from TV Show "The Goldbergs" pouring cheesy sauce over broccoliOne ingredient in illumy’s “secret sauce” is the ability to control who sees what in your profile. Allow only Friends to see your phone number but everyone to see where you went to school, for example. This granular level of control puts you in charge of your privacy, and it’s super easy to change—on mobile or in a browser.

how to set profile permissions in a browser

  1. Log in to illumy as you normally would—or do it unusually. It’s your world. 🙂
  2. Click the illumy logo/sprite in the upper left of the left panel.
  3. From the pop-up, select the Contacts button. Your profile is displayed in the middle panel.
  4. There are six links or tabs at the top of your profile:
      1. My Profile Photo
      2. Contact Info
      3. Basic Info
      4. Education
      5. Relationships
      6. Likes
  5. The Contact Info tab is the default. There, you’ll see your details (or empty fields, if you haven’t filled them in yet).
  6. Each field has an icon to the right of it with an arrow/drop-down menu. To change permissions, click the arrow.
  7. Permission options are:
      1. Public (globe icon)—everyone on illumy can see this.
      2. Acquaintance (handshake icon)—only contacts you’ve set as Acquaintances can see this.
      3. Friends (people icon)—those you’ve designated as Friends see this.
      4. Only Me (padlock icon)—this info is only visible to you.
  8. Select the permission level you want for each piece of information. This allows you to control, down to every detail, which of your connections sees which personal info.
  9. Your choices are saved automatically.
  10. These options are available under every tab (except for your profile photo). Note that profile photo permission settings can’t be changed. Your profile picture is visible to all illumy members.
  11. That’s it. Just set it and forget it! Or revisit to change permissions as often as you like.

Lauren Heller from TV Show "Younger" extending hands, caption: Permission granted

how to set profile permissions in the mobile app

  1. Open the illumy app and log in like normal—or not like normal. You do you. 🙂
  2. Touch the illumy logo (“sprite”) in the upper left of the phone.
  3. Tap “My Profile.”
  4. You’ll be brought to your profile pic first. Note that permission settings can’t be changed on profile pics. Those are visible to everyone on illumy.
  5. There are six links or tabs at the top of your profile (swipe left to scroll to them):
      1. My Profile Photo
      2. Contact Info
      3. Basic Info
      4. Education
      5. Relationships
      6. Likes
  6. Tap the tab that has the information you want to set permissions for. To the right of each field, you’ll see an icon to change your permissions. This indicates who can see this piece of info.
  7. Select the permission level you want for each field. This allows you to control, down to every detail, which of your connections sees which personal data.
  8. Permission options are:
      1. Public (globe icon)—everyone on illumy can see this.
      2. Acquaintance (handshake icon)—only contacts you’ve set as Acquaintances can see this.
      3. Friends (people icon)—those you’ve designated as Friends see this.
      4. Only Me (padlock icon)—this info is only visible to you.
  9. These options are available under every tab (except for your profile photo).
  10. If you want to cancel your changes, tap “Cancel” in the top left of the screen.
  11. To save your changes, tap “Done” in the upper right of the screen. If the Done button is grayed out, it means no changes have been made to your profile or permissions.
  12. That’s it! Use this feature to change permissions as often as you like.